2017 Call for Proposals

42nd ASHE ANNUAL MEETING


 

Welcome & Overview

The Association for the Study of Higher Education (ASHE) convenes annually as a community of scholars dedicated to the study of higher education.  ASHE encourages proposals that advance knowledge and understanding of a wide range of issues pertaining to higher education as a field of study.  We welcome proposals from faculty, scholars, administrators, and students who work in higher education, public policy, or a related field; those who work within and across such disciplines as education, public policy, economics, history, philosophy, political science, psychology, and sociology; and those in state and federal agencies, philanthropic organizations, higher education associations, and other entities that use research to inform policy and practice.

To navigate to the different components of the call for proposals, please click the links listed to the right side of the screen (desktop version) or at the bottom of the page (mobile version). 

 

2017 ANNUAL MEETING THEME

By Shaun R. Harper, ASHE President 

They are not merely variables, statistics, and participant quotes – they are people. Scholars commonly write about institutions without acknowledging that people comprise postsecondary learning and workplace settings. While higher education policy analysts usually highlight the effects of policies on people, less attention is paid to those who create and enact policy, the power they possess, and the demographic mismatch between them and the people their legislative activities affect. Also not sufficiently considered in the literature are roles people who work in postsecondary education play in the annual production of underprepared college graduates who become power abusers in diverse societies. Myriad explanations are offered for persistent and pervasive inequities between people on college and university campuses; rarely are troubling trends and disparate outcomes attributed to power asymmetries.
 
In higher education research, power determines whose epistemologies are valued, which methods are legitimized and rewarded, and what counts as evidence. Researchers exercise power by deciding which questions are worthy of study and the best ways to pursue them. Methods often fall short of fully including participants’ expertise on their experiential realities. Many scholars become recognized as experts on particular populations without spending much time in homes, schools, and communities of people about whom they famously write and offer culturally decontextualized claims, practical recommendations, and policy prescriptions. Some theorize about oppression, for example, without engaging meaningfully with oppressed peoples. Consequently, the presumed oppression expert amasses considerably more power than does the person whose everyday circumstances manufacture an overlooked, seemingly less valuable form of expertise.
 
Through general and presidential sessions, keynote addresses, and a range of other exciting activities, the 2017 ASHE Annual Meeting will principally focus on restoring power to the people on whom our research, scholarly reputations, and career rewards are based. ASHE members are invited to consider the following in paper and symposium proposals:
 

  • Power asymmetries and their effects on people, policies, and postsecondary places.
  • Historical origins of powerlessness in higher education and the longstanding relationship between power and exclusion.
  • Theoretical and methodological approaches to complicating understandings of power in higher education research.
  • Interdisciplinary analyses of power – exploring how power inequities in P-12 schools, communities, governments, economies, criminal justice systems, and other social sectors within and beyond academe affect college opportunity, student success, campus cultures and organizational norms, and the stratification of the postsecondary workforce.
  • How powerful institutions and people in them repeatedly accumulate, protect, and reproduce power.
  • Ways in which people who have been historically and contemporarily denied access to power epicenters, as well as those abused by powerful institutional actors, resist marginalization and reframe success in higher education.
  • The operation, contestation, and distribution of power at colleges and universities in nations beyond the U.S.
  • Movements, policies, and practices that demonstrably disrupt power asymmetries among and between people from different backgrounds on campuses.

Topics beyond these that are focused on people and/or power in postsecondary contexts are welcome, so too are important, theoretically and conceptually complex, and methodologically rigorous proposals on a wide array of other subjects that will substantively advance the study of higher education.
 
Beyond sessions and speeches, a commitment to this theme will be evidenced throughout the 2017 ASHE Annual Meeting. Specifically, we will share what we have learned through our research on college access and success with high school teachers and counselors, families, city government leaders, and students attending Houston public schools and local postsecondary institutions. We will meet people in their communities and schools. Additionally, numerous people representing populations on which our research is based will meaningfully participate with us in several aspects of the conference.
 

Important Dates

PROPOSAL DEADLINE: MAY 5, 2017 at 5:00 PM PACIFIC
PRE-CONFERENCES: NOVEMBER 8-9, 2017
GENERAL CONFERENCE: NOVEMBER 9-11, 2017

 

Annual Meeting Program Committee

Name and Affiliation

Program Area

Email Address

James Soto Antony, Harvard University 2017 ASHE Program Chair james_antony@gse.harvard.edu
Daisy D. Alfaro, Cal State LA Students: College Access dalfaro7@calstatela.edu
Monica Esqueda, Old Dominion Students: College Access mesqueda@odu.edu
Amalia Dache-Gerbino, University of Missouri Students: College Access dachegerbinoa@missouri.edu
Susana Munoz, Colorado State University Students: College Access susana.munoz@colostate.edu
Linda DeAngelo, Pitt Students: Transitions and College Experiences deangelo@pitt.edu
Jessica Harris, UCLA Students: Transitions and College Experiences jharris@gseis.ucla.edu
David Perez II, Miami University Students: Transitions and College Experiences DrPerez@miamioh.edu
Cristobal Salinas, Florida Atlantic University Students: Transitions and College Experiences salinasc@fau.edu
Brian Burt, Iowa State University Students: College Success and Outcomes burt@iastate.edu
Julie J. Park, University of Maryland Students: College Success and Outcomes parkjj@umd.edu
Frank Harris III, San Diego State University  Students: College Success and Outcomes frank.harris@sdsu.edu
OiYan Poon, Loyola Chicago Students: College Success and Outcomes opoon@luc.edu
Toby S. Jenkins, Georgia Southern Teaching, Learning, Assessment tjenkins@georgiasouthern.edu
Milagros Castillo Montoya, University of Connecticut Teaching, Learning, Assessment milagros.castillo-montoya@uconn.edu
Tryan McMickens, Suffolk University  Teaching, Learning, Assessment tmcmickens@suffolk.edu
Brian Bridges, UNCF Patterson Research Institute Organization, Administration, Leadership brian.bridges@uncf.org
Constance Iloh, UC Irvine Organization, Administration, Leadership ciloh@uci.edu
Thai-Huy Nguyen, Seattle Organization, Administration, Leadership nguyetha@seattleu.edu
Corbin Campbell, Teachers College, Columbia U Faculty campbell2@tc.columbia.edu
Vijay Kanagala, University of Vermont Faculty vijay.kanagala@uvm.edu
Megan Palmer, Indiana University Faculty mmpalmer@indiana.edu
Keon McGuire, Arizona State University Contexts, Foundations, Methods keon.mcguire@asu.edu
Daniel Newhart, Oregon State University Contexts, Foundations, Methods daniel.newhart@oregonstate.edu
Manuel Gonzalez Canche, University of Georgia Contexts, Foundations, Methods msgc@uga.edu
Willis Jones, University of Kentucky Policy, Finance, Economics willis.a.jones@uky.edu
Kenny Nienhusser, University of Hartford Policy, Finance, Economics nienhusse@hartford.edu
Awilda Rodriguez, University of Michigan Policy, Finance, Economics awilda@umich.edu
Christopher Collins, Azuza Pacific University International Higher Education ccollins@apu.edu
Dongbin Kim, Michigan State University International Higher Education dbkim@msu.edu
Christina Yao, University of Nebraska-Lincoln International Higher Education cyao@unl.edu
 

Pre-Conference Chairs

Name and Affliation

Pre-Conference

Email Address

Karen Card, University of South Dakota Council for the Advancement of Higher Education Programs (CAHEP) Karen.Card@usd.edu 
Christopher Newman, University of San Diego Council on Ethnic Participation (CEP) cnewman@sandiego.edu
Anita Gopal, University of Maryland Council for International Higher Education (CIHE) anita.gopal@gmail.com
Tiffany Jones, The Education Trust Council on Public Policy In Higher Education (CPPHE) jones1tn@gmail.com
Wendell Hall, The College Board Graduate Student Public Policy Seminar (GSPPS) wendelldhall@gmail.com


Support ASHE!

 


Purchase ANY item sold on Amazon.com, through the link above, and ASHE will receive 6% of the purchase price.