Special Merit Award

Presented to a person, group or organization in recognition of distinctive support for the purposes and goals of the Association for the Study of Higher Education.

Call for Nominations

To submit a nomiation you will need:

  • Name, Title, Position, Instituion, Email, and Phone Number of Nominator

  • Name, Title, Position, Instituion, Email, and Phone Number of Nominee

  • A nomination letter (up to 500 words), including an explanation of why the nominee deserves this ASHE award.  Rationale may include, but is not limited to, the nominee’s impact on higher education theorizing, research, practice, and/or ASHE as an organization. 

  • The nominee's CV.

Previous Special Merit Award receipients:

  • 2016 Higher Education Research Institute at UCLA
  • 2015 Inside Higher Ed
  • 2011 Institute for Higher Education Policy
  • 2010 The National Center for Public Policy and Higher Education
  • 2009 No Recipient
  • 2008 The National Resource Center for The First-Year Experience and Students in Transition, University of South Carolina
  • 2006 United Negro College Fund
  • 2005 Samuel E. Kellams
  • 2004 Jerry Davis/Lumina
  • 2003 University of Michigan Affirmative Action Defense Team
  • 2002 Walter R. Allen
  • 2001 Clifford Adelman & Deborah Wilds
  • 2000 Michael Olivas
  • 1995 Lavina Fielding Anderson
  • 1993 Walter Hobbs
  • 1992 Jossey-Bass Incorporated Publishers
  • 1989 Peggy Heim & Robert Silverman