ASHE History

ASHE was incorporated in Washington D.C. in 1976 as a 501(c)(3) Non-profit organization, Federal ID 52-1071242.

The initial ASHE Board of Directors was comprised of ten individuals: 

  • Mary Corcoran, University of Minnesota 

  • Kathryn Moore, Cornell University 

  • Allan O. Pfnister, University of Denver 

  • Steven G. Olswang, University of Washington 

  • H. Bradley Sagen, University of Iowa 

  • Mary Kinnane, Boston College 

  • Patricia Wilson, University of Washington 

  • C. Robert Pace, University of California at Los Angeles 

  • Kenneth P. Mortimer, Pennsylvania State University 

  • William D. Carr, Alabama Commission on Higher Education