CEP Executive Committee

An executive committee shall be appointed by the Chair to serve as a consultation body for issues pertinent to the CEP. The executive committee membership will consist of, but not be exclusive to, CEP officers and subcommittee chairs. 
California State University, Northridge
Kandace Hinton, Immediate Past Chair (2015-2021)
Indiana State University
Frederick D. Patterson Research Institute, UNCF
Mississippi State University
University of North Carolina Wilmington
Claremont Graduate University
University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Texas Tech University
University of California, Riverside

Meet the CEP Executive Committee
CEP Chair: Lissa Ramirez-Stapleton, California State University, Northridge
Dr. Lissa D. Ramirez-Stapleton is an associate professor at California State University Northridge in the Department of Deaf Studies and core faculty for the Educational Leadership and Policy Studies program. Her research focuses on equity and access, identity development, and the educational history of deaf students, faculty, and staff with a particular interest in the intersections of race, gender, and disability. Lissa previously worked as a student affairs professional and with Semester At Sea. Lissa's desire to support deaf college Students of Color, led her to pursue her doctorate at Iowa State University. She graduated in 2014 with her Ph.D. in Education with an emphasis in Higher Education and Social Justice and a minor in Women's Studies. She earned her M.S.E. in College Student Personnel from the University of Dayton and B.S. in Social Work from Wright State University. She is the CEP chair from 2020-2022.
Nadrea Njoku, Ph.D., is a Senior Research Associate at the Frederick D. Patterson Research Institute of the United Negro College Fund. As Senior Research Associate, Nadrea conducts empirical research and evaluation related to guided pathways and student success. Her broader research foci include Black women in higher education, Historically Black Colleges and Universities and the influence of campus environments on student experiences. A graduate of Indiana University's doctoral program in Higher Education and Student Affairs, she is popularly known as a member of IU’s Great 8. Her scholarship is centered in a critical race and feminist framework that is devoted to disrupting issues of race and gender within the post-secondary education context. She positions this work within her own narrative of growing up and attending an HBCU in the American South. She has worked across multiple functions of higher education — housing, student affairs, fraternity and sorority affairs, alumni relations, and evaluation. She is a proud alumna of Xavier University of Louisiana.
Kaleb L. Briscoe, Ph.D., is an Assistant Professor in Higher Educational Leadership. Her research agenda focuses on problematized, oppressed and marginalized populations within higher education through critical theoretical frameworks and qualitative methodological approaches. Through her scholarship on campus racial climate, she seeks to disrupt whiteness and white supremacy on predominantly white campuses. Her research shapes administrators', specifically university presidents', responses to race and racism, by challenging their use of anti-Blackness and non-performative rhetoric.
Dr. Wilson Okello is an assistant professor of higher education in the Department of Educational Leadership at the University of North Carolina Wilmington. Bridging the artist-scholar divide, Dr. Okello draws on Black feminist theories to think about the relationship between history, the body, and epistemology; anti-Blackness in education; critical masculinities; and anti-deficit curriculum and pedagogy.
CEP Graduate Student Representative: Sergio Gonzalez, Claremont Graduate University
Sergio A. Gonzalez is a doctoral student in the School of Educational Studies Department and Dual Master of Arts student in the Applied Gender Studies Program at Claremont Graduate University. He earned his M.Ed. in Postsecondary Administration and Student Affairs from the University of Southern California (USC) and his B.A. in Communication Studies from Manhattanville College. Sergio’s research interests focus on Jotería pedagogy, education equity, social justice, undocumented/DACAmented students, and Queer Latinx students in higher education.
CEP Mentor-Protegé Co-Chair: Crystal Garcia, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Crystal E. Garcia, Ph.D., is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Educational Administration at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln. Her research critically examines the mechanisms by which racially minoritized college students experience campus environments, specifically focusing on campus climates and the role of student affairs in student experiences.
CEP Pre-Conference Chair: Lucy Arellano, Texas Tech University
Lucy Arellano is an associate professor of Higher Education Programs in the College of Education at Texas Tech University. She has over fifteen years of experience in the field of higher education. Her research focuses on persistence, retention, and degree completion for emerging majority students.
Raquel M. Rall is an assistant professor of higher education at the University of California, Riverside. Her research sits at the intersection of equity and higher education leadership and governance. Prior to her appointment at UC Riverside, Rall was a UC Chancellor’s Postdoctoral Fellow. A graduate of the University of Southern California’s Rossier School of Education, she earned her PhD in urban education policy. She obtained BAs in human biology and African and African American studies from Stanford.

Past CEP Chairs
  • Kandace Hinton (2019-2020)
  • J. Luke Wood (2016-2018)
  • ​D-L Stewart (2013-2015)
  • Caroline Turner (2012 only, due to election as president)
  • Terrell Strayhorn (2010-2012)
  • Consuella Lewis (2007-2009)
  • Frankie Santos Laanan (2004-2006)
  • Janet Guyden (2002-2003)
  • Chris Brown (1999-2001)
  • Berta Vigil Laden (1997-1998)
  • Wynetta Lee (1995-1996)
  • Cynthia King (1992-1994)
  • Millie Garcia (1989-1991)