Leadership Award

Given for outstanding leadership in advancing the study of higher education. This award is intended to recognize individuals who bring visibility and support to the field of higher education by demonstrating the contributions of the study of higher education to policy formation, or in gaining substantial resources for research and training in higher education.

Call for Nominations

Nominations for the 2021 award will open in May 2021.

To submit a nomination you will need the following information to complete the form:

  • Name, Title, Position, Institution, Email, and Phone Number of Coordinating Nominator
  • Name, Title, Position, Institution, Email, and Phone Number of Nominee
  • A nomination statement up to 750 words which explains why the nominee deserves this ASHE award. Rationale may include, but is not limited to, the nominee’s impact on higher education theorizing, research, practice, and/or ASHE as an organization.
  • 2-3 letters of support. For upload into the nomination form, these should be combined into one document, preferably a pdf.
  • The nominee's CV.

New for 2020: Each nominee will be limited to one nomination. In the event multiple nominations are submitted, the committee chair will notify the coordinating nominators requesting they consolidate their nominations with the best three letters.

2019 Leadership Award:
Shaun R. Harper, University of Southern California

2018 Leadership Award:
Estela Mara Bensimon

2017 ASHE Leadership Award:
Trudy Banta

Previous Leadership Award recipients:

  • 2019 Shaun R. Harper
  • 2018 Estela Mara Bensimon
  • 2017 Trudy Banta
  • 2014 Marybeth Gasman
  • 2013 William G. Tierney
  • 2012 Gary Rhoades
  • 2010 Sylvia Hurtado
  • 2008 George Keller
  • 2007 Judith Glazer-Raymo
  • 2006 Elaine El-Khawas
  • 2005 Ann I. Morey
  • 2004 Stan Ikenberry
  • 2003 Kathryn M. Moore
  • 2002 Edward St. John
  • 2001 William Bowen
  • 2000 Ted Marchese
  • 1999 Zeld Gamson
  • 1996 Peter Ewell
  • 1995 Derek Bok
  • 1992 Ernest Boyer
  • 1990 Kenneth P. Mortimer