Mentoring Award

About the Award

The Mentoring Award will be presented in recognition of extraordinary, tireless, and sustained contributions to the professional and scholarly development of emerging scholars as the future of our profession.


When reviewing nominations, the awards committee will make decisions based on the following preferred and demonstrated attributes:
  1. a commitment to mentoring students and emerging scholars; 
  2. active fostering of inclusive classroom and  transforming research environments; 
  3. recognized scholarly contributions to the field of higher education; 
  4. consistent role modeling of personal and professional integrity; and/or
  5. collaboration in scholarship with junior faculty and graduate students.


  • Nominations will be open from May 3, 2021-July 1, 2021 at Noon Pacific. Due to number of submissions and the review process, no late submissions will be accepted; as such, nominators are encouraged to submit their nominations well in advance of this deadline.
  • Nominators and nominees will be informed of decisions in mid-September.
  • An announcement of recipients will be sent to the ASHE membership in late September.
  • The recipient(s) will be recognized during the ASHE Awards Ceremony during the Annual Conference.


You'll need:

  • Name, Title, Position, Institution, Email, and Phone Number of Coordinating Nominator
  • Name, Title, Position, Institution, Email, and Phone Number of Nominee
  • A nomination statement up to 750 words which demonstrates the nominees match to the award evaluation criteria.
  • 2-3 letters of support. For upload into the nomination form, these should be combined into one document, preferably a pdf.
  • The nominee's CV.

Due to the increased number of nominations received in recent years, each nominee will be limited to one nomination. In the event multiple nominations are submitted, the committee chair will notify the coordinating nominators requesting they consolidate their nominations.

Award nominees (and subsequently recipients) must be current members of ASHE.

Questions about the 2021 award process can be sent to


The ASHE Awards Committee is a standing committee of the Board of Directors. Committee members are recommended by the President to the Board of Directors and service 1-3 year terms.

2021 Committee Members:

  • Glenda Musoba, Texas A&M University (Chair)
  • Antonio Duran, Auburn University
  • Gina Garcia, University of Pittsburgh (Board of Directors Representative)
  • Marc Johnston-Guerrero, The Ohio State University
  • Darris Means, University of Pittsburgh
  • Charlie Scott, University of Denver (Graduate Student Member)
  • LaWanda Ward, Pennsylvania State University

2020 Mentoring Award:
Gloria Crisp, Oregon State University

2019 Mentoring Award:
Linda J. Sax, UCLA

2018 Mentoring Award:
James Earl Davis



2017 Mentoring Award:
Roger Baldwin



  • 2020 Gloria Crisp
  • 2019 Linda J. Sax
  • 2018 James Earl Davis
  • 2017 Roger G. Baldwin
  • 2016 Audrey J. Jaeger
  • 2015 Alberto F. Cabrera
  • 2014 Stephen L. DesJardins
  • 2013 Peter Magolda
  • 2012 Patricia M. McDonough
  • 2011 Sharon Fries-Britt
  • 2010 Alexander W. Astin & Helen S. Astin
  • 2009 Marilyn Amey