Presidential Medal

The ASHE Presidential Medal will be presented to an individual of the current president’s choice at the ASHE Annual Meeting awards ceremony each year. The recipient can be a mentor, colleague, research collaborator, or someone else in higher education whom the outgoing president deems worthy of public acknowledgement. In the event of a posthumous presentation, a colleague, former student, or family member will be invited to accept the medal on the awardee’s behalf. Only one ASHE Presidential Medal can be presented each year.

A silver medal hanging from a blue and white ribbon will bear the ASHE icon and include the following inscription: Presidential Medal, Association for the Study of Higher Education. It will be nicely framed with a small silver plate that includes the recipient’s name, the president’s name, and the presentation year.

At the awards cerermony, the ASHE president will briefly say why the medal is being presented to that year’s recipient. The awardee will join the president on stage to accept the medal and take a photograph, but will not give an acceptance speech. This will ensure the introduction of this new honor does not significantly lengthen the awards luncheon.

Call for Nominations

Nominations are solicited through a process developed by the ASHE President each year, in conjunction with the awards process. 

Previous Presidential Medal Award receipients:

  • 2018: Mary Howard Hamilton