Research Achievement Award

Presented for outstanding contribution to research for an individual whose published research (theoretical, empirical or applied) advances understanding of higher education in a significant way.

2020 Research Achievement Award

Mitchell J. Chang, University of California, Los Angeles
Throughout his career, Mitchell J. Chang research has had a profound and far-reaching impact on social justice in education. In addition, he has applied his research to advance social justice in educational policy and practice for over two decades. His scholarship includes nearly 100 publications and this work has been cited approximately 8,000 times. He has also been involved in generating over $4 million in external funding for research on issues related to social justice. Most of his peer- reviewed scholarship has been published in a wide range of top-tier journals in the field of education. While these quantitative metrics and prestigious publication outlets provide evidence of the value of Dr. Chang’ scholarship, the qualitative aspects of his work are even more telling. His research has shaped existing knowledge and discourse in areas ranging from the reduction of racial bias to how diversity in educational organizations shapes campus climates, interracial relations, and student outcomes. 

Call for Nominations

Nominations for the 2021 award will open in May 2021.

To submit a nomination you will need the following information to complete the form:

  • Name, Title, Position, Institution, Email, and Phone Number of Coordinating Nominator
  • Name, Title, Position, Institution, Email, and Phone Number of Nominee
  • A nomination statement up to 750 words which explains why the nominee deserves this ASHE award. Rationale may include, but is not limited to, the nominee’s impact on higher education theorizing, research, practice, and/or ASHE as an organization.
  • 2-3 letters of support. For upload into the nomination form, these should be combined into one document, preferably a pdf.
  • The nominee's CV.

New for 2020: Each nominee will be limited to one nomination. In the event multiple nominations are submitted, the committee chair will notify the coordinating nominators requesting they consolidate their nominations with the best three letters.

2019 Research Achievement Award:
Anna Neumann, Teachers College, Columbia University

2018 Research Achievement Award:
Ann Austin

2017 ASHE Research Achievement Award:
Adrianna Kezer


Previous ASHE Research Achievement Award recipients:

  • 2019 Anna Neumann
  • 2018 Ann E. Austin
  • 2017 Adrianna Kezar
  • 2016 John M. Braxton
  • 2015 Michael B. Paulsen
  • 2014 Simon Marginson
  • 2013 Estela Mara Bensimon
  • 2012 Amaury Nora
  • 2011 John R. Thelin
  • 2010 Edward P. St. John
  • 2009 Jerome Karabel
  • 2008 John H. Schuh
  • 2007 Marcia Baxter-Magolda
  • 2006 Frances Stage
  • 2005 Arthur M. Cohen
  • 2004 Judith Glazer-Raymo
  • 2003 Michael T. Nettles
  • 2002 David W. Leslie
  • 2001 John C. Smart
  • 2000 George Kuh
  • 1999 Vincent Tinto
  • 1998 Sheila Slaughter
  • 1997 William Tierney
  • 1996 Kenneth A. Feldman
  • 1995 Larry L. Leslie
  • 1994 Michael A. Olivas
  • 1993 Yvonna S. Lincoln
  • 1992 Joan Stark
  • 1991 Ernest Pascarella & Patrick Terenzini
  • 1990 Robert Birnbaum
  • 1989 Jack Schuster
  • 1988 Robert Blackburn & Howard Bowen
  • 1987 Alexander W. Astin
  • 1985 Burton Clark