The Council on Ethnic Participation is open to all members of the Association for the Study of Higher. The primary focus of this council is to maintain and guide the integrity of the structural diversity of the ASHE organization. To that end we have created several initiatives to provide professional development and support for participants. This community is committed to talent development and the framing of the canon pertaining to the experience of people of color in the academy.

Initially titled the Committee on Ethnic Participation, CEP began as a response to concern over the limited visibility and participation of individuals from underrepresented racial and ethnic groups within the leadership and activities of ASHE. Ellen Earle Chaffee, ASHE President 1988-1989, created CEP to address this need with Mildred García serving as the first chair.

CEP is intended to fulfill the following goals:

  • Serve as the first point of contact for diverse persons seeking to get established within ASHE,

  • Improve the engagement and participation of diverse persons in ASHE as a whole,

  • Monitor all committees to ensure diverse participation,

  • Recommend qualified diverse members to fill empty leadership positions and committee vacancies,

  • Extend social and networking opportunities to all ASHE members, and Provide structured mentoring and professional development opportunities to interested ASHE members.

Over the years, many dynamic leaders have advanced the charge of CEP for both continuing and new ASHE members.

These past chairs of CEP are, in order of service:

  • Mildred García, Berkeley College of NY & NJ (1989-1991) 

  • Cynthia King (1992-1994)

  • Wynetta Lee, North Carolina Central University (1995-1996)

  • Berta Vigil Laden, OISE - University of Toronto (1997-1998)

  • M. Christopher Brown II, Alcorn State University (1999-2001)

  • Janet Guyden, Grambling State University (2002-2003)

  • Frankie Santos Lanaan, Iowa State University (2004-2006)

  • Consuella Lewis, Transformations Organizational Consulting (2005-2008) 

  • Terrell L. Strayhorn, Ohio State University (2010-2011)

  • Caroline S. Turner, California State University, Sacramento (2012)

  • Dafina-Lazarus Stewart, Bowling Green State University (2013-2015)

In 2005, CEP became the Council on Ethnic Participation to be consistent with other administrative changes within the ASHE organization. This change also provided renewed recognition of the place and importance that CEP has had and will continue to occupy within the framework of ASHE.

Support ASHE!


Purchase ANY item sold on Amazon.com, through the link above, and ASHE will receive 6% of the purchase price.